The third CO5BOLD workshop

Napoli, April 11-13, 2016

Scientific Organizing Committee

Juan Manuel Alcalà Marcella Marconi Thomas Straus (chair) (INAF/Osservatorio Astronomico di Capodimonte)

Local Organizing Committee

Romilda Cozzolino Clementina Sasso Andrea Di Dato Thomas Straus (INAF/Osservatorio Astronomico di Capodimonte)

FOREWORD

CO⁵BOLD (COnservative COde for the COmputation of COmpressible COnvection in a BOx of L Dimensions, L=2,3) is a radiation (magneto-)hydrodynamics code designed for modelling the convective layers and atmospheres of stars. In order to make the name easier to index by search engines, the code has often been referred to as COBOLD or CO5BOLD. We use CO5BOLD throughout these proceedings of the third workshop of a series which started in 2006 at the Kiepenheuer Institute für Sonnenphysik in Freiburg.

The group pictures of these workshops easily prove the ageing of the participants and the growing-up of young colleagues inside the CO5BOLD community of scientists who develop the code and employ it to various contexts in solar and stellar physics. These workshops are fundamental to the CO5BOLD community for presenting and discussing results of recent work, and future applications and development of the code.

It was a pleasure and honour to organise the third workshop of this series at the Astronomical Observatory of Capodimonte in Napoli. These proceedings certify the quality of the discussions and gather the fruits of years.

I'm looking forward confidently to follow the progress achieved by this vivid community during the fourth workshop in three years from now.

Thomas Straus (Chair of SOC)



(Photo: Enrico Cascone)

- 1. Pier-Emmanuel Tremblay
- 2. Hans Ludwig
- 3. René Salhab
- 4. Bernd Freytag
- 5. Andy Gallagher
- 6. Derek Homeier
- 7. Clementina Sasso
- 8. Alessandro Mott
- 9. Gohar Harutyunyan
- 10. Gangadharan Vigeesh
- 11. Oskar Steiner
- 12. Gioele Janett

- 13. Arūnas Kučinskas
- 14. Anders Overaa Thygesen
- 15. France Allard
- 16. Thomas Straus
- 17. Jonas Klevas
- 18. Piercarlo Bonifacio
- 19. Mia Sloth Lundkvist
- 20. Massimo della Valle
- 21. Dainius Prakapavičius
- 22. Matthias Steffen
- 23. Flavio Calvo
- 24. Elisabetta Caffau